ericathevegan

Yesterday you said tomorrow.

Tofu Stir-Fry Night and Nutter Butter? ..why, yes, I’ll have one serving, Thank You.

Never be afraid to try new things.  Nor fear old things coalesced with other old things.  Be.

Self.com 

That is who planned today’s supper.  Here is what they sent me via e-mail:

DINNER
Tofu Stir-fry
SF: OLIVE OIL, QUINOA
Drain and pat dry 1/4 of a 14-oz block of extra-firm tofu; slice into 1/2-inch squares. In a bowl, toss tofu with 1/8 tsp garlic powder, 1/8 tsp dried oregano. In a medium pan, saute tofu in 1 tsp olive oil until light brown; transfer to a bowl. In same pan, saute 1/2 cup snap peas, 1/2 cup sliced mushrooms, 1 tsp chopped garlic in 1/2 tsp olive oil until veggies are soft, 5 minutes. Return tofu to pan. In same bowl, combine 1/4 cup low-sodium vegetable broth, 1 tsp chopped ginger, 1/2 tsp each dark sesame oil, rice wine vinegar, reduced-sodium soy sauce; stir into pan; cook 2 minutes. Serve over 1 cup cooked quinoa.
THE SKINNY 469 calories, 21 g fat (3 g saturated), 48 g carbs, 7 g fiber, 27 g protein

Now, I have no I idea what “SF” stands for, but oh well. I don’t need to in order to eat(:

This evening and I began as usual: hungry.  Not that loathesome hunger where I ravish the factories for all they can chemically cram into my oral orifice.  No, that type of hunger has been banished, never to be seen again as it wallows about the Forbidden Forest.  This hunger was a natural pang.  I knew what I had planned for supper, or rather what Self.com had planned.  Tofu, olive oil, soy sauce, vinegar, garlic, fresh ginger, italian seasoning, garlic powder, sesame oil, edamame, all of these items were already stored in my pantry and/or fridge.  But I was lacking.  I yearned JUMBO.  For those of you that don’t know, JUMBO is the international food market a five-minute walk from my domain.  JUMBO is my market, my place of sustainance.  Thank you, God, for creating such a beau.  I advise you to go there.  It has almost everything that you didn’t know you needed (produce, grain, legume-wise).  As I was saying, I had a physical yearning to go there since Sunday.  It is now Tuesday.  As well, I needed some ingredients if I planned to pull off this stir-fry.

Thus, I took my newly-earned American dollars to my market.  Quinoa, barley, chinese eggplant, mustard greens, fresh blueberries, baby bella mushrooms, spring onions, kale, bananas.  These were all recently acquired.  Then I trotted off to Family Dollar.  I wouldn’t advise one to go there, especially if one lacks self-control. So.Much.Junk.  But, if you can handle yourself, go right ahead, just be sure to check the grams of sugar per serving…and fat, these are both very important.  I purchased a 1 package serving of Nutter Butters.  I never get those.  The only times I’ve ever had them is once over someone’s house, and if at another time, they might have been passed out as a snack in my early childhood. But I do not recall.

It is 8:30pm and I just finished creating my stir-fry concoction.  Delish, I tell you. Delish.  I added half a cup of raw mustard green afterwards, placed atop of the dish.  They taste like mustard! Pwhoa.  All people should serve these with hamburgers, hotdogs, and all foods usually laden with mustard. But seriously, this meal is awesome.  A third of the way through preparation, I thought, ‘Eh, am I really going to enjoy this healthy-looking meal?’ We all know how those can be.  But, I am! And surprisingly, the tofu tastes good in it too.  Final note: place your Nutter Butters in the freezer at least an hour and a half prior to consumation..ohhh.

{Mumford&Sons Pandora playlist is an excellent side dish with Tofu Stir-Fry Night}

ericathevegan.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 19, 2012 by in Journeys and tagged .

Sixty-Three Point Five Kilograms

Weight Loss/Freedom Gain JourneyJanuary 2nd, 2013
It's today! It's today! Time to get aboard the scale.

DC VegFest

The Big DaySeptember 22nd, 2012
The DC VegFest is a FREE outdoor festival celebrating the many wonderful opportunities to explore meat-free cuisine in and around the nation's capital. There are so many reasons to choose vegetarian foods— for our health, the planet, and animals.
June 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
