ericathevegan

Yesterday you said tomorrow.

Dripping For July

Cars are what make the world hot.  Uncut shrubbery on sidewalks is the devil.  And free burritos make the earth spin backwards on it’s axis.

I rode my bike today, a lot.  I rode it to work.  I rode it home from work [just to put  my new van’s english muffins in the freezer – I shall taste them tomorrow(:].  Went out again on my bike.  Rode up a hill on my bike. Felt dehydrated on my bike.  Was blown with car exhaust on my bike.  Battled through throngs on uncut shrubbery with my bike.  Broke my bicycle’s basket on my bike.  All in 100 degree weather.  Today was a great day.

No, seriously.  I rather enjoyed my day.  The worst thing that happened was my basket breaking – my dad kept the bikes outside, exposed to the elements; the portion attached to the bike rusted away, and a bump was enough to send it to its grave.  It’s a nice bicycle basket too. She sits in my closet, holding her arms at her side.

CLIF!

I had my first Clif 20g Protein Builder’s Bar today – Chocolate Mint. And it tasted so good.  Plus I deff needed the protein.  All the energy that I was exerting, and I hadn’t really eaten since 8:30am, before work.  I had the protein bar at 4pm.  That’s a swell amount of time of nothingness.  If you wish to buy me a box of those bars, because you know, you might be a secret admirer or something, go right ahead – I’ll love you till the end of time.  Such a good bar. I must emulate it!

So, it was rank hot, but luckily, I did have water on me at all times.  Must. Stay. HYDRATED. The motto of my life, man.

I purchased 2 of the van’s english muffins and only had to pay $2.00.  Not $4.00 – 2 of them for $4, but simply $2.  I was ecstatic! As it turns out, the sign that was underneath the muffins in the frozen food section: Natural/Organic had expired.  Not my fault of course.  I am merely an innocent shopper.  The muffins rang up as their original $4.19.  Dude  checked the price, saw that it was expired, and did thee greatest thing on earth.  “Now here’s what I’m gonna do for you, ma’am.  I’m going to take these off, and then give them both to you for $2.00.  Seddrick, could you pass me the override.”  🙂 “That’s why I keep coming back.”  What a lovely conversation.

I had this amazing salad for lunch/pre-supper.  It contained:

  • 1 cup fresh red cabbage, chopped
  • 1 cup fresh arugula
  • 1 cup fresh collards, chopped
  • .5 cup black beans
  • .5 cup brown rice
  • 1 0z. avocado, diced
  • quick salsa – mixture of chopped tomato, cilantro, and onions
  • 2 spring onions + 1 mushroom cooked sauteed in .25 tsp. soy sauce
  • 1 garlic clove, chopped
  • lemon hummus tahini dressing left over from Sweet Green + 1 tbsp. of my own Otria Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

So very good. I ate well today.  I also made a condensed version of that salad for supper w/out the garlic, beans, rice, mushroom, onions of spring, collards, and hummus & with added carrot, peanuts, and extra light drizzle of balsamic vinegar. ‘Twas amazing in my mouth.  The crunch.  The taste.  The freshness and nutrients. I am becoming quite accustomed to not drowning my food with dressings and sauces but enjoying my foods for what they really are and simply allowing the dressing or sauce to enhance the flavor. No complaints thus far.  I love this clean-eating-vegan-for-the-rest-of-my-life thing.  Life is good.

When I finally came home from Giant, I was dripping…in sweat.  Literally.  It was so bad that I sort of didn’t want my mum to see me for fear of why I was sweating so much.  It was ridiculous.  My trousers are still damp.  As if I dropped them into a puddle. Well, sweats a good thing, right?

Speaking of sweat.  I think I’m going to do that again soon.  Today was one of those Triple Decker Days – 3 exercise sessions.  This morning, I woke up and worked on my abdomen, handles of lurvee,  and somewhat my legs. This took about thirty minutes.  My cycling/ walking, but mostly (at least 3/4th) cycling took a span of 3 hours.  And now P90X Shoulders & Arms + the Ab Ripper X at the end is calling my name.  Or is it? [Due to the fact that my eyes are burning, I believe I shall do it in the morn.  Today shall not be a Triple Decker Day. Until next time then, eh.]

Tomorrow my dad and I are doing that Bethesda ride again.  But it does depend on the weather.  If it’s sweltering, we shall just drive down there.  I hope it’s not sweltering, I’d really like to ride.  They’re giving free burritos at this joint that it opening down there tomorrow.  I am ready to stand in line!  And then check out Naked Pizza down the street.  Burritos and pizza??  Oh, dear, I’m losing my gravitational pull!

One comment on “Dripping For July

  1. Pingback: cereal confused me? « ericathevegan

Leave a Reply

Sixty-Three Point Five Kilograms

Weight Loss/Freedom Gain JourneyJanuary 2nd, 2013
It's today! It's today! Time to get aboard the scale.

DC VegFest

The Big DaySeptember 22nd, 2012
The DC VegFest is a FREE outdoor festival celebrating the many wonderful opportunities to explore meat-free cuisine in and around the nation's capital. There are so many reasons to choose vegetarian foods— for our health, the planet, and animals.
July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
