ericathevegan

Yesterday you said tomorrow.

…Almond Sprouts? (and tentative cooking of asparagus)

So I planned to make Chocolate Kale Granola today (something that I got from Ali, the Farmers Market Vegan.

The recipe is as follows:

Ingredients: (Soy free)

  • 5 dates, pitted and soaked for at least 10 minutes
  • 1 apple, chopped very small
  • 1 large banana (or 1 1/2 small ones), sliced
  • Juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 2 tbsp cocoa/cacao/carob powder
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 5 large leaves of kale, chopped (no need to remove the stems)
  • 2 1/2 cups gluten-free rolled oats
  • 1 cup raw buckwheat (soaked and sprouted is best)
  • 1/2 cup flaxseed meal
  • 1/2 cup almonds, chopped (soaked and sprouted is best)
Preparation:
Preheat the oven to 275°F.
In the bowl of a food processor, combine the dates, apple, banana, and lemon juice. Pulse into a smooth puree. Add the coconut oil, cocoa powder, and vanilla. Pulse until incorporated. Add the kale and pulse again until completely incorporated—hardly any flecks of kale should be visible. In a large bowl, stir together the rest of the ingredients (oats through almonds) until well combined. Pour the kale puree over the dry ingredients and stir until evenly coated. Divide the mixture between two or three baking sheets lined with parchment paper and spread evenly over the sheets. Bake for 25 minutes, stir, and bake for another 15-20 minutes. Allow to cool completely before transferring to an airtight container and storing in the refrigerator.

I did not understand what soaked and sprouted almonds meant.  Thus I looked it up.  Boy, what a find.  You soak raw almonds overnight…and they sprout.  It turns out that soaking almonds overnight improves their digestablility. Raw almonds are the best to use; the only ones that will sprout!

Another huge thing I learned: Almond milk can be made by soaking almonds overnight with some dates in filtered water and then next day blending them together. Guess who might make almond milk once a month (I say once because almonds are somewhat expensive for me. $3.99.  And that’s at Aldi’s; they are way more at other places. But I can’t go without them being in my cupboard.)

Hmm, what else can I sprout? “1 cup raw buckwheat (soaked and sprouted is best)”  I suppose I can soak buckwheat as well.  And pecans. And other nuts??  Oh, this is dangerous information for me;)

I suppose I shall be having Chocolate Kale Granola tomorrow then, since I must soak my almonds.  I’ll just have asparagus instead.  This will be a first for me – making asparagus.  I never liked it as a child, and thus never purchase it now.  But I made an exception because I hear raving reviews.  I crossed my fingers and bought exactly three stalks.  Yes, I splurge(:

If you have any ideas for the best way to cook them, please do tell.  I have no idea what I am doing.  Oh, but I did look up a good way to store them, the way that farmer’s market people do.  So if you don’t know this, take notes: Place the asparagus with cut stems in a cup, I put mine in a glass bottle.   Fill it a few inches with water and insert the cut stems; the tops of the asparagus should be out of the water/glass.  Put a plastic zip lock or bag over top of the asparagus tops and refrigerate. When you’re ready to use the asparagus, just wash it, break off the stems at their natural breaking point, and cook it as usual. Too bad I don’t have an “as usual.”

Treat your asparagus like a flower.FreshAsparagusStorage

ericathevegan.

3 comments on “…Almond Sprouts? (and tentative cooking of asparagus)

  1. Little Sis
    July 21, 2012

    For asparagus? Cook them as little as possible, squirt with lemon and add salt. Done. Whatever method you use, do NOT overcook. Limp asparagus is well, limp.

  2. Andrew Pelt
    August 2, 2012

    I just want to tell you that I am very new to weblog and absolutely liked this web page. More than likely I’m want to bookmark your blog . You really come with outstanding article content. Thanks a bunch for sharing with us your web-site.

Leave a Reply

Sixty-Three Point Five Kilograms

Weight Loss/Freedom Gain JourneyJanuary 2nd, 2013
It's today! It's today! Time to get aboard the scale.

DC VegFest

The Big DaySeptember 22nd, 2012
The DC VegFest is a FREE outdoor festival celebrating the many wonderful opportunities to explore meat-free cuisine in and around the nation's capital. There are so many reasons to choose vegetarian foods— for our health, the planet, and animals.
July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
