ericathevegan

Yesterday you said tomorrow.

Zucchini Ribbons, Chocolate Kale Granola, & Asparagus all wrapped into One

FreshAsparagusStorageZucchini Noodles

I made all of these things today; whoop!

I cut one fresh stalk of asparagus, and tossed it with my salad today.  Tasted fine to me.

For supper, I made zucchini ribbons with a peeler and mixed that with black beans and Rinaldi Hearty Tomato & Basil tomato sauce.  Tasty.  It didn’t even taste like your average eww-I’m-eating-vegetables type dish.

Right now, in my oven, as well as in my convection oven, lies chocolate kale granola.  I used what I had and here is what that was:

  • 3/4 of a large plantain
  • 1 apple
  • 2 dates, pitted and soaked
  • 1/2 cup raw almonds, also soaked for a day
  • 1 cup raw oats
  • 1/4 cup wheat germ
  • small bunch of kale
  • vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp. cocoa powder
  • and that is all [approx. 1,160 calories for the entire batch, divide it into several 1/4 cups and you get calories per serving]

I’m sort of hopping upwards and downwards in anticipation.  Well, not literally but inside I am.  This will be my first attempt at creating my own granola.  If this goes well, I see more granola-making in my future.  That is one item I like to keep in the house, though I am too often without.

I think I’m going to purchase Muesli this week.  They have it at Safeway.  Muesli Cereal – part of their EatRight brand..it’s $2.49 and I have a raincheck! (:  I got a lot of rainchecks recently – though for 5 out of the 7, I did not go about the proper way obtaining them.  Only 2 of the items that I rainchecked, I had purchased the last two of them.  The other’s, I just didn’t have the money for them at the time so I asked for a raincheck.  😮

Oh, yes.  I did go to the cinema last night and didn’t get back home until 3am. Batman: The Dark Knight Rises was the movie of choice.  I was quite pleased as a viewer.  I could rave on about what I liked, and which character I thought could have been done without, but I shall not.  I shan’t ruin it for those of you who haven’t seen it.  All I will say is that it was very good, Christian Bale is an attractive fellow (especially when doing push-ups and pull-ups – man, he made me want to exercise), and during a shooting scene, I thought about those in the Colorado cinema and thought to myself, they actually experienced this, then I teared up a bit.  If you do want to read a review of the movie via a fan, click here – I felt as though this guy’s experience was somewhat accurate to my own <– note: if you have not seen this movie, reading this will spoil everything.

Note on the Plantain: Other than plantain chips, which I love, and fried plantains that my Spanish teacher brought in for that class, I have never experienced the taste of a plantain.  I bought one this past week and first consumed some of it yesterday.  I had it atop my english muffin and Natural PB – I think I’ve mentioned this.  Anyway, it is good.  I do indeed like and could become a regular costumer.  It is different from a banana.  I can’t particularly explain it right now.  Just..go out and buy one.  Make sure it is ripe enough, then slice some, and eat it raw.  That is my challenge to you.  Tell me what you think, eh?

Leave a Reply

Sixty-Three Point Five Kilograms

Weight Loss/Freedom Gain JourneyJanuary 2nd, 2013
It's today! It's today! Time to get aboard the scale.

DC VegFest

The Big DaySeptember 22nd, 2012
The DC VegFest is a FREE outdoor festival celebrating the many wonderful opportunities to explore meat-free cuisine in and around the nation's capital. There are so many reasons to choose vegetarian foods— for our health, the planet, and animals.
July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
