ericathevegan

Yesterday you said tomorrow.

Joining Like Crazy!

I don’t want to be on my lonesome any longer.

The result of these feelings –> I’ve begun joining things like crazy.

So far, DCVegan and Vegetarian Society of DC (VSDC for the cool kids).  And this is only the beginning.

I want to branch out.  Meet other vegan/vegetarians in my relative community.  In reality, I think that I am the only vegan I know.  Oh wait, there is my sissy’s friend.  But that’s pretty much it.  Sigh.  I’m all alone.

Omg..there is vegan/vegetarian speed dating. Wow. Ha, I’m good. I’ll pass on that one, folks :]

Eep. This VSDC entails me printing an application, filling it out, and mailing it to them with a $15 check.  Mm, well I do make money.  And there are “benefits” to joining that I read about <- there go those prepositions; drat!

Should I do it.  I might.  How desperate am I for a community? Haha.  But if I were to not sign up/receive the benefits, I could still attend their events.  Hmm. Perhaps I’ll do that first, and then if I really want to join, I can pay up $15 bucks. There’s a potluck on the 26th of August.  Now that I think about it, how weird would it be for me to just walk in there with my food.  All these freaks will either come and greet me or totally ignore me.  This is somewhat nerve-racking, and I haven’t even signed up for anything yet!

Here is something else:

Friday August 10 – Sunday August 12
Arlington County Fair

Compassion for Animals will have literature and “Pay Per View” video stations at our table for this major three-day event. (We may also offer non-graphic, non-Pay Per View videos.)

Friday: 4:00am – 10:00pm <– my question is: who is coming to this event at 4am??
Saturday: 10:00am – 9:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am – 7:00pm
Thomas Jefferson Community Center
3501 South 2nd Street, Arlington, VA 22204
[directions and shuttle service]
MORE INFO: Arlington County Fair web site
Whoa. Whoa. Whoa.  This search I am doing is becoming rather informative.  Turns out, Subway is doing 3 new vegan sandwiches! TOTES. And this organization, Compassion Over Killing, has gotten BOCA Foods, MorningStar, Lightlife, and Quorn to reduce or eliminate their use of eggs in their products. Great! Because MorningStar has been totally off limits for me since becoming vegan.  Ingredients: Egg (story of my life)
Sweet Riblet  ♦  Malibu Greek  ♦  Italian Black Bean 
These are our new options, fellow vegans.  This is what they give us.  Well I say, let us take what they give us and see if it meets our standards.  If not, we can just make our own better version.  But thank you Subway, and thank you Compassion Over Killing.
I’m not sure if these sandwiches are everywhere.  I do know that they are in Subway Cafés in Maryland, DC, and Virginia.
And if you don’t live in the DC-area but would like to see these vegan options offered in a Subway store near you, be sure to let the company know by contacting them through WeLoveSubway.comtoday or call them now at 203-877-4281!
These are the Subway breads that are vegan:
  • 9 Grain Whole Wheat (contains honey)riblet_0-550x346.JPG
  • Ciabatta Bread
  • Hearty Italian Bread
  • Honey Oat Bread (contains honey)
  • Roasted Garlic Bread
  • Sourdough

The flatbread is not vegan. Good thing because I’ve never had it.

So, I’ve read about Compassion Over Killing, DC Vegan Drinks, Vegetarian Society of DC, Farm Animals Rights Movement (F.A.R.M. <– nifty how they did that.  Compassion Over Killing’s acronym is COK <– not so nifty).  Any more ideas? Totally tell me.

Leave a Reply

Sixty-Three Point Five Kilograms

Weight Loss/Freedom Gain JourneyJanuary 2nd, 2013
It's today! It's today! Time to get aboard the scale.

DC VegFest

The Big DaySeptember 22nd, 2012
The DC VegFest is a FREE outdoor festival celebrating the many wonderful opportunities to explore meat-free cuisine in and around the nation's capital. There are so many reasons to choose vegetarian foods— for our health, the planet, and animals.
July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
