ericathevegan

Yesterday you said tomorrow.

Youth Group

Yesterday I had a great blog post in my head.

I had an alluring title planned and an interesting topic waiting to be typed.  I have forgotten it all.  Oh well.

Christian Youth Groups: We are not a cult.  We are simply a group of kids (and adults) willing to share, love, learn, and teach.  Our youth leaders and ministers aren’t necessarily old fogies.  My youth minister and his wife are twenty-three actually.  The same age as one of my sisters.  The youth pastor before them was in his thirties (or forties, not sure).  And only a few of our youth leaders are in their forties/fifties.  But that doesn’t make them less great.  Pssh. Age is beautiful.

I am a part of my Christian youth group which is connected to my school/church. {I believe that I am supposed to be a leader among our group – God help us all.} My school and church are connected as well.  My school is a Christian school.  You see all the dots connecting?

I love my youth group.  The leaders are great, the kids are growing, and we all have much to learn.  The great thing is, we do not have to do it alone.  Not only do we have GOD to share and hold our burdens (which is monumental), but we have each other as Christians to help us carry our burdens.  Galations 6:2 (NIV) says, Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.”

The youth group and I are going to have a Youth Group Retreat tomorrow.  From August 6th through the 9th.  We’ll have messages from people who usually don’t speak to us (like, planned speech) –  friends of the youth minister and youth leaders will be speaking.  We shall be going to Busch Gardens (this retreat is taking place in Williamsburg, VA). We shall be fellowshipping.  And at some point I’m sure we are going to do something outreachy and help-like for others.

Now to incorporate exercise.  Where we are staying is this woodsy area owned by a friend of my youth minister.  I plan to bring my exercise mat, food/exercise journal, running shoes, exercise clothes, and jump rope.  My goal is to wake up early, read my Bible, then go outside and stretch/exercise/run/jump rope.  I really hope things go as planned.  I don’t run, but this would be an awesome place to start.  I really hope that I can come back on the 9th or 10th and tell you guys about my awesome running/exercising adventures.  If not, I will be sad 😦

So I did something sort of gross.  My niece is over and has this little bag of candy.  As she took a shower, I took out one of her lollies.  I unwrapped it and gave it a lick.  ‘Twas nasty.  I re-wrapped it and tossed it back into her bag.  It was the smallest lick.

Click to visit the original post

Verses For Thought: 1 Peter 5:7, Galations 6:2, Hebrews 13:5, Daniel 1:1-20

The verses from Daniel are interesting in that, well they are interesting in a lot of ways that I won’t get into, but the last few verses speak of Daniel, Hananiah, Mishael,  and Azariah.  You might know them better as Belteshazzar, Shadrach,  Meshach, and Abednego, I know that I do – but I know Daniel as “Daniel” rather than Belteshazzar.  Anyway, these were some Hebrews chosen from Judah by king Nebuchadnezzar and were to be given a daily amount of food and wine from the king’s table. They were chosen to enter the king’s service along with other dudes (that weren’t Hebrew). The  Hebrew dudes did not want to defile themselves with the royal food, so they asked if they could be given vegetables and water for ten days while the other men (not Hebrews) ate the royal food.  At the end of the ten days, their clarity, performance, and appearance were to be compared.  They did this, and at the end of the ten days guess which group of men were in better shape? Daniel, Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego(:  This is just a little example of the power of vegetables.  I’m not saying stop eating meat and never drink wine nor do I know if these bros were vegans, but yeah.

{That’s all.  If you see a problem with my logic or anything I just typed, feel free to comment.}

I should probably begin packing.

ericathevegan.

Leave a Reply

Sixty-Three Point Five Kilograms

Weight Loss/Freedom Gain JourneyJanuary 2nd, 2013
It's today! It's today! Time to get aboard the scale.

DC VegFest

The Big DaySeptember 22nd, 2012
The DC VegFest is a FREE outdoor festival celebrating the many wonderful opportunities to explore meat-free cuisine in and around the nation's capital. There are so many reasons to choose vegetarian foods— for our health, the planet, and animals.
August 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
