ericathevegan

Yesterday you said tomorrow.

All Nat-u-raal

I don’t believe I ever told you the story.

Christmas was over and my hair was done.  It was dirty, thick, and dry.  It was all over the place.  Being so busy with doing nothing and “helping” with 2012’s Christmas preparations, I had no time to take care of my hair.  My mum always pressed and flat-ironed my hair, so if I were to wash it, I knew she would have to be available to do her part, and at that time she was not.  Fast forward a few days after Christmas. I take a trip to Michaela’s house, the mess that was my hair being covered up in a big black hat.  She had stopped perming her hair a few months ago and had just begun going natural – as in ‘no-heat applied’ natural.  I had never thought about that before.  Granted, I have never had a perm and the most that I have done is had braids and pressed my hair every 2 or 4 weeks.  But I thought that it was a great idea.  NO MORE HEAT.  Natural. What a spiffy idea.  A day or two later, I went home and washed my hair and twisted it.  IT DID NOT LOOK GOOD. And I was wary.  But I had absolutely no intention of giving up.  My mum on the other hand, being the lovely pessimist that she can sometimes be, didn’t believe in what I was doing and only saw the bad and not the good.

I knew my hair was not the greatest, meaning that it was damaged, but I did not know the damage that was being caused when I would get my mum to press and flat iron it every 2 to 4 weeks.  My hair always stayed the same length.  Short and almost to my shoulders (but not quite).  For a bit, during August, 2012, through November, 2012, my hair was looking really good with the pressing and flat ironing, and it was growing.  But I don’t know…things happen.  Because of the damage that had been caused to my hair, my ends (even after washing) were permanently straight.  That was annoying.  So for the next three or so weeks, every time I washed my hair, I would cut.  Just relentlessly cut my hair off.  It was cathartic and I wasn’t worried about my hair getting short.  That was the least of my worries.  Plus, with my hair being natural and me mostly wearing it up, its length did not matter.  I cut at least 4 or 5 inches off all around my head 🙂  And my hair was finally looking better and the styles were working out.  I experimented with twists, braids, and perm rods.  Once I found perm rods, I was so very happy.  It was like they were my natural hair saviour.   My hair never really looked bad, the curls never let me down (get my pun? :D).  I did a lot of mo-hawks. But then I wanted to try twists again.  Before, twists gave me a 70-30 chance.  70% my hair did not come out looking good, and 30% of the time, it was all right.  Also, I am not that good of a hair stylist.  My friend, Michaela, on the other hand is WAY better than me in that area, pero esta bien. Vivamos y aprendimos.

I began twisting again, and I finally got hair bands 😀 so it came out pretty nicely.  For those that do not know how to style that well, hair bands are your friend.  Just put ’em on, push your hair up, and voila.  That is all.  I also realized that all of the hair that I had cut off had grown back and that my hair is now the same length that it was when I began, if not longer.  Along with twists, I have done some wash and go’s.  I am not yet comfortable with having my hair all out (I really wish that I was), but it never looks good in the back, so I always wear it up with my wash and go’s.  I’ve been getting really lazy, and just fall asleep without twisting.  So basically when I wake up, I shower and put some conditioner in my hair in the shower and then put a band around it and it is done.

The pros of not applying heat to your hair (ever) and being natural are plentiful.  I feel more confident as a young lady.  I like my hair more than I did when I always felt compelled to flat iron it for it to look good.  I can wash/co-wash my hair whenever I please without having to worry about the maintaining process that would usually be an all day affair.  Now I can wash and roll bounce just like any other girl of other races.  I now really appreciate my people and the diversity of what we can do with our hair ♥ We can do so much.  Anyone can straighten their hair, but not everyone can work an afro.   I am just so much more comfortable in my own skin and my own hair.  My hair actually smells really good now as opposed to smelling like cooked, burnt hair.  I use Shea Moisture products: Deep Treatment Masque Raw Shea Butter, Curl & Style Milk Coconut & Hibiscus, Growth Milk Thickening Yucca & Aloe Thin Fine Hair, Yucca & Baobab Thickening Shampoo, Curl Enhancing Smoothie Coconut & Hibiscus, Conditioner Restorative Raw Shea Butter w/Sea Kelp, Argon Oil, & Shea Butter, Raw Shea Butter Reconstructive Elixir.  I also have a water spritzer that I mixed with Sea Salt, and I have 100% Glycerin Oil, and Raw Shea Butter.  I am set.  However, I love buying new products and my next purchase will probably be Paul Mitchell Foam Pomade.  My teacher referred it to me so I shall try it out.  I make my own things as well.  Good mixtures include eggs, mayonnaise, avocado, oil, cinnamon, lemon, orange, coconut milk, soymilk, honey, etc.  Mix everything together in a food processor or blender and enjoy.

 

I LOVE  My Hair♥

ericathevegan.

Leave a Reply

Sixty-Three Point Five Kilograms

Weight Loss/Freedom Gain JourneyJanuary 2nd, 2013
It's today! It's today! Time to get aboard the scale.

DC VegFest

The Big DaySeptember 22nd, 2012
The DC VegFest is a FREE outdoor festival celebrating the many wonderful opportunities to explore meat-free cuisine in and around the nation's capital. There are so many reasons to choose vegetarian foods— for our health, the planet, and animals.
April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
